#snowmageddonroadtrip

 

As Winter Storm Jonas was rolling in on the East Coast, grocery stores were packed full of people buying snow shovels, bottled water, bread, milk, AND ALL SORTS OF SUGARY/PROCESSED JUNK. I was in total disbelief at the sights while trying to buy some eggs and bananas (because we were out and in need of breakfast staples). But, don’t worry, this is not a blog post about nutrition and my current Whole30. This is about a boy and a girl who acquired tickets to the Kill Cliff East Coast Championships at the Seaport World Trade Center in Boston, MA from friends who couldn’t make the trip.

 

My husband and I made a pros and cons list, in Ted Mosby fashion, to help make our decision to take the trip to Boston. We decided to leave before the storm was predicted to arrive. Our #snowmageddonroadtrip began at 6am on Friday, January 22nd, 2016. We arrived in Boston about 9 hours later.

 

Friday Night

After checking in to our hotel, we went to Nike Boston for an athlete Q&A. Athletes featured included: Cole Sager, Mat Fraser, Sara Sigmundsdottir, and…(drum roll, please)…LAUREN FISHER!!! If you do not know who that is, google her immediately. You won’t be sorry. I love and admire everything that she stands for. She’s a super talented CrossFit athlete and Olympic Weightlifter.  After the event, I was able to meet her and grab a quick photo with her! (Thank you, Husband!!) I had dreamed of meeting her for two years! The moment was so surreal. Then we went to the Atlantic Fish Company for a delicious seafood dinner. We started with bacon wrapped scallops. YUM! I had pan seared scallops, steamed new potatoes, and broccoli. My husband had crab crusted haddock, smashed potatoes, and asparagus. All in all, our first night in Boston was a success!

RH&LF Nike Boston

Lauren Fisher and I – Nike Boston

 

Saturday

We woke up early and went back to Nike Boston where we were able to participate in a workout while trying out the Nike Metcon 2’s! I would love to have a pair of the Metcons that Lauren Fisher designed! Maybe one day!! After the workout, we had brunch at City Table. My loving husband inhaled pancakes while I stayed on Whole30 with scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, sausage, and fruit. It didn’t even bother me, probably because I knew I would see Lauren Fisher (and other badass athletes) shortly. It was finally time to go to the Kill Cliff East Coast Championships (KCECC)! I have so much respect for the hard work and dedication from these athletes. Lauren Fisher and CJ Cummins performed a spectacular Clean and Jerk demo before Event 2. I love watching LF lift, she’s incredible! CJ Cummins is an Olympic Weightlifter. He got a PR on his C&J as he lifted in the spotlight on the platform in front of a cheering crowd. He lifted an impressive 345 pounds! Whoops, I left out two important facts: 1) he power cleaned it AND 2) he’s 15 years old. Yep, FIFTEEN. Now let that soak in for a second. The individual competition was intense. Mat Fraser took the top spot on the podium, for the third year in a row. Sara Sigmundsdottir took the top spot for the women, for the second year in a row. I had the pleasure of getting photos with both of those awesome athletes. (Thank you again, Husband) My husband also snapped photos of me with Brooke Ence, Annie Thorisdottir, and again with Lauren Fisher!! Lauren Fisher also autographed my “The Truth” tank top! I may frame it!

RH&LF ECC

Mat Fraser (KCECC Men’s Champion), Sara Sigmundsdottir (KCECC Women’s Champion), Annie Thorisdottir (Iceland Annie/2011&2012 CrossFit Games Champion), and Brooke Ence (CrossFit Games Athlete)

ECC Photo Collage

As we walked out of the Seaport World Trade Center, the roads were covered in snow! We were parked in a parking garage, so we didn’t have to spend time digging our car out! Luckily, Boston was prepared! We spent the rest of the evening at our hotel enjoying the snow and anticipating the next day!

 

Sunday

After breakfast at a cute little diner, we went back to the Seaport World Trade Center for the final day of the KCECC. It was time for the teams to compete! This was my first time watching Lauren Fisher compete in person. I wore a Rogue LF shirt with a lightweight #GrownStrong hoodie to support my girl (and Team Progenx)! We had excellent views during the competition, front row to all of our favorite athletes. I was standing so close to Lauren Fisher as she was competing. So close that I could smell her as she was running of the Trueform Runner. In case you’re wondering, she smells like sweat. 😛

 

Now we’re an hour into our #snowmageddonroadtrippart2. The interstates are clear and the snowy views are breathtaking. We are heading home! Home with stories, videos, photos, and memories of our time spent at the KCECC. This was such an incredible weekend, and I’m thankful that I was able to experience every second of it with my Husband. Cheers to visiting new states…together! I love adventures with my Husband!

 

Who is your favorite athlete and why? In case you couldn’t tell, my favorite athlete is Lauren Fisher.

PS: I stayed on the Whole30 program during the #snowmageddonroadtrip. We stayed at a DoubleTree by Hilton, a little piece of me was sad when the receptionist handed me two warm cookies. Less than a week to go!

 

Do you want to build a snowman?!

-RH

Leave a Reply

